Future Posts: Just a list of things I want to write

Today, I don’t have an exact clue as to where to begin. Instead, I’ll give you a list of future posts that you’ll see here in the next month. Like Hollywood, I have to give you a prequel of the exciting work of a free and maybe sometimes, unabashed, wanna-be writer.

The History of the Joke – I started this post one night after watching a History channel special hosted by Lewis Black. (left) I wanted to inject some humor, and some serious thoughts on the concept of humor in America. I was looking for a risqué, almost piggish viewpoint on this topic. I abandoned the post. But it will get done.

A Personal American History: Where we all come from – In more recent years, I have had to come to grips with some personal history which, although it does not define me, it is in the blood (or roots) of who I am. I haven’t mentioned it in any posts, though one blogger friend might remember an email related to that subject. It involved famous and infamous Americans that I am related to. But more to the point, it reflects that all of us as people likely have a skeleton or two hanging in our closets. (I have a small army…)

A Faux Inaugural address 2009 – What a neat writing task: to lay out an address to the United States of America. To speak with flowery prose, interject a plan for the future and have many, many millions take to heart (or to task) your words. Daunting, some might say. Whomever the speechwriter is, they get the fun of giving over to their most idyllic vision in the manner of a glorious speech. (an excerpt from Kennedy’s Inaugural address below:)

In the long history of the world, only a few generations have been granted the role of defending freedom in its hour of maximum danger. I do not shrink from this responsibility — I welcome it.

I do not believe that any of us would exchange places with any other people or any other generation. The energy, the faith, the devotion which we bring to this endeavor will light our country and all who serve it. And the glow from that fire can truly light the world.

And so, my fellow Americans, ask not what your country can do for you; ask what you can do for your country.

My fellow citizens of the world, ask not what America will do for you, but what together we can do for the freedom of man.

…If we shall suppose that American slavery is one of those offenses which, in the providence of God, must needs come, but which, having continued through His
appointed time, He now wills to remove, and that He gives to both North and South this terrible war as the woe due to those by whom the offense came, shall we discern therein any departure from those divine attributes which the believers in a living God always ascribe to Him? Fondly do we hope, fervently do we pray, that this mighty scourge of war may speedily pass away. Yet, if God wills that it continue until all the wealth piled by the bondsman’s two hundred and fifty years of unrequited toil shall be sunk, and until every drop of blood drawn with the lash shall be paid by another drawn with the sword, as was said three thousand years ago, so still it must be said “the judgments of the Lord are true and righteous altogether.”

Hack: The Jolly Roger Chronicles – Yes, I haven’t exactly forgotten about the pulp fiction. It has to work on two levels: that of the present day forays into the world of scriptwriting AND the portrayal of 16-18th century pirates. Stay tuned…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Cooper  On March 13, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Good list.
    I’m trying to stay away from politics. Besides my schooling I’m ignoring it as best i can for the ext few weeks.

Leave a Reply

